Why Buffy? #TuesdaysWithBuffy

So why Buffy? My first reaction is why not Buffy. What stands out the most for me is that she was the first feminist female character I encountered. She lead me into my studies of gender identity and social construction. I realize I was thinking about these things at a young age without know the proper language to convey how I felt.

I love the slang in Buffy: “Gives me the wiggins”, and there are so many great quotes: ” I laugh in the face of danger… then I hide until it goes away.” “Everybody needs a good ramble.” In my daily life I am always reminded of Buffy. I’ve watched the episodes so many times that I feel like all of the characters have shaped the woman I’ve grown into.

But the thing I love most is that Buffy almost always makes the right choice in the end. Even in her dark period in Season 6 I never stopped loving her. And in the end she finds freedom to be and find herself.

BuffyList_Chosen

I also love her cookie dough speech… who doesn’t?

 

This speech put so many things in perspective for me. I was 14 at the time and my life seemed to make more and more sense when I compared myself to Buffy and the characters on the show. They were like a second family.

  • Vanessa Vallozzi

 

Leave a Reply

