Woman of the Week #WomenWednesday

My mom. The woman who has raised me to be the woman I am becoming. This week I want to celebrate her and all the great times we have had together. One of my favourite things to do with my mom is go dress shopping. Every event I’ve been to she has helped me select my dress. I love her #StyleSense because it is timeless. I raid her closet sometimes for her old sweaters and shirts. This song reminds me of her:

Years back I wrote her a song that goes to this tune. I even recorded myself signing it over the instrumental version of this.

She always told me that people are who they are you can’t change that. She taught me to be strong and to not care what other people thought. She stood up for me when I couldn’t stand up for myself.

I saw the love she had for her mother. She called her 3-4 times a day to check in. The day Nonna died I saw how broken she was (and everyone else as well). She called out “who am I going to call everyday.” She inherited her strength from my Nonna and Nonno and my sister and I in-turn became strong women (and my cousins from their parents and grandparents). I’m at a crossroads in my life. About to step out of the nest next year when my condo is ready. This will change the dynamics of my relationship with my mother.

It’s funny because my mom is the only one who sees the worst side of me. My anger and my beast inside. Why? Because I can flip out on her and know she will love me unconditionally. That is what this woman has shown me even when she is upset at me. unconditional love, even if sometimes it did not feel that way.

No matter what hardships I have endured, we have made it through intact; as a family. I know I am lucky to have a strong woman in my life. So this post it to celebrate my mother and all the mothers out there.

Love you mommy ❤

  • Vanessa Vallozzi
Leave a Reply

