Toronto Symphony Orchestra

I found myself at Roy Thomson hall last night. At 4:30pm I was meeting with friends at a place I like downtown, cafe crepe and they happened to have tickets to last nights symphony performance. So I picked up a last minute ticket to attend with them. As you know I love instrumental and classical music. I live by the saying “Without music life would be a mistake.” Something unexpected came to mind as I sat in the audience listening to the instruments and watching the movement of each performer. I thought of Fantasia. That is when Mickey Mouse is the apprentice of a wizard and he starts practicing the same magic only to find he can’t control what he had done.

 

This is what happens when we think we can do things on our own. It is important to be able to rely on yourself. In the end you are the only one who can make things happen for yourself. But when we mess up it is actually stronger to ask for help then it is to allow things to get out of hand.

As I watched the symphony I spent time looking at the conductor. He is like a magician. With every wave of his arm sound waves are created from every section of the stage. Different notes being played. All he needed was a top hat to finish the look. I never studied music beyond the recorder in gr.8 and 4 months worth of guitar lessons. I can’t evaluate a performance based on technical terms (I probably could if I took time to research it but I’m not interested in the technical). What interests me is the sound and the feeling behind each piece. Like Drew Barrymore says in the movie Music & Lyrics the song isn’t complete without the story. The music (notes) convey the feeling behind the words. They both need to be together for a song to be complete. I take that a step further. When  I hear a song that I love the music to but can’t relate to the words, I find an instrumental version of the song and create new lyrics in my head. It’s like taking an adult colouring book and colouring in the pages. You are bringing someone elses art to life. And I find that beautiful.

I bought three CD’s last night: Chill With Vivaldi, Chill with Chopin and Early Music For Meditation. As I write this I am listening to Vivaldi and thinking of all the things that may pass in my future. I’m hoping for the best.

  • Vanessa Vallozzi
Leave a Reply

