My Fear of Heights

I’ve been thinking of my fears lately. My fear of relationships, my fear of wasps, my fear of failure. But the fear that came to mind today was my fear of heights. I can’t pinpoint when my fear of heights came to be. What I can say is that when I’m up high my heart starts racing. I don’t want to look down. I’m afraid of falling. That’s why the rope climbing sessions at Crossfit were terrifying for me. While the rest of the people would climb to the top I would do a modified version pulling myself up from the floor into a crouched type position.

And then one day it happened. I saw everyone around me climbing to the top and I wanted to climb to the top too. So I did it. I stood up and used all my strength to pull myself there. Then from the top I looked down, heart pounding… I have no idea how to climb down. I tried to figure out the hand placements but I would surely fall if I tried to climb down. So I slid down the rope. Luckily my hands didn’t get to hurt. Just a few tears in the skin. And now I can say I’ve climbed to the top. One day I would like to try again and this time not slide down, climb down.

  • Vanessa Vallozzi
Leave a Reply

