The First Time

Today was the first time I’ve ever gone to the cemetery alone to visit my Nonna. She passed away in 2008 and it has taken me this long to have the courage to go alone.

I have Laura, a councillor at the hospital to thank for this and my cousin Natalie who earlier this week pointed out a different way to get there. Laura suggested that tomorrow we all go for a walk if the weather is nice. Today was a beautiful day, and we all went to Abruzzo’s on Yonge Street. This is a great restaurant, my family frequently does takeout there.

After the meal I decided to walk home because of Laura’s earlier suggestion. On the way was the cemetery my Nonna is burried at and I went in. I really miss our one on one conversations. I told her I’m sorry and talked to her about many things: the man I liked, the year I had at The Rose and Crown etc. I told her about the recovery program and thanked her, for saving me and for always believing in me. She believed in all of us in the family and loved us all with everything she had.

Today I lived in love.

And thanks to my dad for picking me up! I said I was ok but he was worried I would get locked in the cemetery. xoxo

  • Vanessa Vallozzi
Leave a Reply

